Photo by Blackburn Portrait Design

2018 incoming Board of Directors announced

SARATOGA SPRINGS— On Tuesday, March 13, Discover Saratoga held their 33rd Annual Meeting and Breakfast at the Saratoga Springs City Center. In addition to highlighting the successes of 2017 and initiatives for 2018, the team welcomed new members of the Board of Directors and Executive Committee.  A crowd of 150 members, government officials and past chairs attended.

Those elected to serve a 3-year term on the Board of Directors are John Howard from The Gideon Putnam, Chris Perez of Live Nation and AJ Bodden of Albany Broadcasting.

The following candidates were elected to serve their second 1-year term as Officers: Cindy Hollowood (The Saratoga Springs Holiday Inn) as Chairperson, Tom Newkirk (Saratoga National Gold Club) for Immediate Past Chair, AJ Bodden (Albany Broadcasting) as Chair-Elect, Marianne Barker (Impressions) for Treasurer and Megan Hennessey (Courtyard by Marriott) as the At-Large officer.

In addition to announcing the new board, the Bureau recognized two 2017 Hometown Ambassadors, local individuals who brought their convention or event to Saratoga. The honorees were Bill Phelps, USS Saratoga Reunion, and Stuart Sacks, JDRF NENY—Ride to Cure.

Volunteers of the year were also honored. Colleen Earley was recognized as Discover Saratoga’s volunteer of the year, and Sam Klivans was awarded by the Saratoga Springs Heritage Area Visitor Center.


The Saratoga Convention & Tourism Bureau (DBA Discover Saratoga) was incorporated in 1985. As a key economic driver of the community, the mission of the organization is to contribute a positive impact on the local economy by positioning and marketing Saratoga Springs (and Saratoga County) as a world-class destination for meetings, conventions and groups. As an independent 501-c6 non-profit organization, the Bureau is responsible to a 20-member Board of Directors who represent the membership of over 500 local and regional businesses.

Media Contacts